The Academy has announced its newly elected 2023–2024 Board of Governors. The Board is responsible for directing the Academy's strategic vision, preserving the organization’s financial health and assuring the fulfillment of its mission.

The Academy's 18 branches are each represented by three governors, except for the recently established Production and Technology Branch, represented by a single governor. Governors and the board-appointed governors-at-large may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms for a lifetime maximum of 12 years.

With the new governors, the Board comprises 53 percent women and 25 percent belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

Here is the full list of newly appointed governors in every branch:

Wendy Aylsworth, Production and Technology Branch

Rob Bredow, Visual Effects Branch

David I. Dinerstein, Marketing and Public Relations Branch

Ava DuVernay, Directors Branch

Linda Flowers, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Richard Gibbs, Music Branch

Jinko Gotoh, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Lynette Howell Taylor, Producers Branch

Kalina Ivanov, Production Design Branch

Simon Kilmurry, Documentary Branch

Ellen Kuras, Cinematographers Branch

Hannah Minghella, Executives Branch

Daniel Orlandi, Costume Designers Branch

Lou Diamond Phillips, Actors Branch

Stephen Rivkin, Film Editors Branch

Dana Stevens, Writers Branch

Mark P. Stoeckinger, Sound Branch

Debra Zane, Casting Directors Branch

They will join returning governors Pam Abdy, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Susanne Bier, Jason Blum, Gary C. Bourgeois, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Ruth E. Carter, Eduardo Castro, Megan Colligan, Bill Corso, Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, Tom Duffield, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Donna Gigliotti, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Laura C. Kim, Marlee Matlin, Missy Parker, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Howard A. Rodman, Eric Roth, Terilyn A. Shropshire, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Marlon West, Rita Wilson and Janet Yang.


Academy Announces New Acquisitions From Steven Spielberg, 'Everything Everywhere All at Once' and More

2023 Scientific and Technical Awards: See the Full List of Honorees

The Academy Elects 2022-2023 Board of Governors