The Academy has announced its newly elected 2022–2023 Board of Governors, including a number of first-time electees. The Board is responsible for directing the Academy's strategic vision, preserving the organization’s financial health and assuring the fulfillment of its mission.

Each of the 17 branches within the Academy have three governors on the Board, with defined term parameters and for a lifetime maximum of 12 years. With the new governors, the Board comprises 54 percent women and 28 percent belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

Here is the full list of newly appointed governors in every branch:

Actors: Marlee Matlin (a Best Actress Oscar winner for 1986's Children of a Lesser God)

Casting Directors: Richard Hicks

Cinematographers: Dion Beebe (a two-time Oscar nominee and winner for 2005's Memoirs of a Geisha)

Costume Designers: Ruth E. Carter (a three-time Oscar nominee and winner for 2018's Black Panther), incumbent governor reelected to the Board

Directors: Jason Reitman (a four-time Oscar nominee across Best Directing, Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Picture)

Documentary: Chris Hegedus (an Oscar nominee for Best Documentary Feature)

Executives: Donna Gigliotti (a four-time Oscar nominee and Best Picture winner for 1998's Shakespeare in Love), incumbent governor reelected to the Board

Film Editors: Nancy Richardson

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists: Howard Berger (a two-time Oscar nominee and winner for 2005's The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe), incumbent governor reelected to the Board

Marketing and Public Relations: Megan Colligan (EVP / President, IMAX Entertainment)

Music: Charles Fox (a two-time Best Original Song Oscar nominee), returning to the Board after a hiatus

Producers: Jason Blum (a three-time Oscar nominee for Best Picture)

Production Design: Missy Parker

Short Films and Feature Animation: Marlon West

Sound: Peter Devlin (a five-time Oscar nominee for Best Sound and Best Sound Mixing)

Visual Effects: Paul Debevec

Writers: Eric Roth (a seven-time Oscar nominee and Best Adapted Screenplay winner for 1994's Forrest Gump), incumbent governors reelected to the Board

They will join the returning governors on the Board of Governors and are slated to take office at the first scheduled board meeting of the new term.


Here Are Your 2022 Governors Awards Honorees

Marlee Matlin on the Legacy of Her Historic 1987 Oscar Win (Exclusive)

Academy Museum: Everything to Know Before You Visit